Wednesday Fanart

I finally received my copy of the “JRR Tolkien Encyclopedia” the other day, and it has a whole entry devoted to fan art, which I think counts as an endorsement. Which is a good thing, as there are a lot of wonderful artists out there producing beautiful works of art inspired by Tolkien’s works. In honour of that fact – well, really because there’s such a lot of great art out there and I want to make sure everybody sees it – I’m going to be highlighting a piece of fanart I particularly like every Wednesday. (And yes, I know that “Friday Fanart” would work better for the alliteration, but on Fridays I’m far more likely to go to the cinema or get drunk and completely forget to do this than I am on a Wednesday, so Wednesday it is!)

The first piece of art I’m going to recommend is one I’ve already highlighted on the blog – it’s “Family” by liga-marta from DeviantArt: Family. The picture depicts Idril, Tuor and Earendil escaping from Gondolin – Tuor carries a sleeping Earendil in his arms, while Idril has stopped momentarily, presumably for one last look back at Gondolin. I chose this picture in large part because I just love how all three characters are depicted in it – Idril’s sadness and Tuor’s quiet strength really shine through here, and Earendil is adorable. The other reason is that I’m in the middle of writing what is turning out to be something of a love letter to Idril Celebrindal, so it seemed appropriate!

Finally, I just have to mention how much Tuor and Idril’s no-nonsense parenting style in the “Book of Lost Tales” version of the Fall of Gondolin amuses me. They clearly don’t believe in sugar-coating the truth as far as Earendil is concerned, which gives us scenes like this:

EARENDIL: Mum, Dad, where is Salgant? He’s funny.

TUOR: Salgant’s dead. Now shut up, we have a long way to go.

EARENDIL: (cries).

(Ten minutes later)

EARENDIL: Mum, Dad, where is Ecthelion? I want him to play with me.

IDRIL: He’s dead too, sweetie. A Balrog drowned him in a fountain.

EARENDIL: (crying) I hate Balrogs! I hate Gondolin! I never want to go back there, ever!

TUOR: Well, today’s your lucky day, because the whole place was destroyed along with all your toys, and your grandad got crushed underneath his own tower.

EARENDIL: (wails).

(N.B. I’m sure there is a way to actually insert images into the text of my blog – I just can’t for the life of me work out what it is! So the link will have to do for now).

Leave a Reply

